Obsessed with Being Popular

When I was in high school, I must admit that I wished I was more popular.  I wished that everyone knew who I was and I had a lot of friends.  It turns out that many times, I had friends because I was very studious.  And because I was so studious, I was voted Most Studious.  Funny, eh?

Now that I’m older and in the real world, I’m finding that though I like my privacy, I also want people to see my photos and read my blog posts.  I love meeting new people and talking to new people because you can always learn something from someone.  So, it seems that now that I have set up my blog and my web identity, so to speak, I am craving attention.  I would love to have more people visit my blog, but in order to do that, I have to find out how to drive more traffic to my blog.

I suppose I can use Twitter to help, but I seem to have a small following there as well.  I don’t have a billion followers, but then again, I’m not following a billion people either.  I suppose I can change that and see how that works, but what is the point in just following so many people and not really connecting to them?  Isn’t the point of Twitter is to start a conversation?  I still really haven’t had much of a conversation yet.  Anyone wanna try?  Tweet me!

I’ve also heard that in order to get more traffic, you need to visit more sites and comment on other blogs.  I’m working on that.  I have started surfing and looking around to find new and interesting blogs to read.

Digg and StumbleUpon seem to also help in that you can get exposure and people see you commenting and maybe they’ll look at your profile and look at your site.

All of this traffic-driving is a work in progress.  I’m sure I’ll come back and let you all know how it’s going.  Hopefully, I’ll have more of an audience next time.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Blogging quickly becomes so much work after writing and then visiting lots of sites. Good skill with your audience, some of the sites that you list seem to work better than others for attractive readers.

    Reply
  2. I know exactly what you mean… it isn’t easy.

    I tried twitter, but I didn’t really enjoy it much. And I’m on facebook more often and I have a lot more conversations there. I’ve kinda given up on twitter. I’ve linked my blog to my facebook account too. Have you tried that?

    Good luck!

    Reply
  3. Thanks guys! I think it just has to do with keeping up with others and networking… I guess I need to keep trying. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Yuriko’s Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1 other follower

  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 5,510 peeks
  • Archives

  • Bookmark and Share
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

