What the World Will Be Without Saturday Mail

I don’t know about you, but I will surely miss getting the mail on Saturday. According to CNN Money, the USPS is considering cutting their Saturday service. They are facing such debt that they have already began reducing their workforce and closing some distribution centers.

I believe that the reduction of mail volume has a direct correlation to our society today. We are so dependent upon instant gratification that I find more and more people do not have any patience.  I remember the days when I had pen pals and we would write each other a few times a month.  It was so exciting to get the letters because it was nice to get notes from friends.

I’ve had relationships where we sent packages, letters, postcards and it was always special to receive such things in the mail.  It was like Christmas every day!  But now that there’s text messaging and instant messaging and email, the post office has become less and less relevant.  There is still a use for the post office, especially in the business world.  But letter writing has become a lost art.  I wonder if people still have good penmanship.  Can young people write well and legibly?  Or are they dependent on computers and keyboards?

On that note, I fear the kids today.  Sure, they can text message quickly to their friends, using shortcuts.  But will they be able to survive in the real world?  Can they switch off the text message mode and actually speak and write well?  Will they have use proper grammar and spelling?  Or will we see more LOLs and TTYL instead of Sincerely yours?

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the great work Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    Reply
  2. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Yuriko’s Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1 other follower

  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 5,513 peeks
  • Archives

  • Bookmark and Share
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

